User Forum    :: Powered by YaBB
  « MIDI-OX User Forum - Data Mapping, Port Routing, Port Objects »
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 21st, 2024, 6:41pm

Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register

MIDI-OX User Forum
   MIDI-OX
   Mapping Questions
(Moderator: Jamie OConnell)
   Data Mapping, Port Routing, Port Objects
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Data Mapping, Port Routing, Port Objects  (Read 425 times)
jamos

MIDI-OX Rules!

Data Mapping, Port Routing, Port Objects
« on: Nov 30th, 2023, 1:12pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I've been using MIDI-OX for years as a data monitor, and now I'm just getting into mapping. Even for a software engineer, this is confusing.

I have a HydraSynth Deluxe, a virtual sampler, and a Sequential Pro 3. I am trying to set things up so that a program change on the Hydra will select a program on the sampler, select a program on the Pro 3, and optionally rechannelize/filter notes/etc. data and route it to the sampler. I have the sampler portion working (using a patch map to select data maps and filter/rechannelize appropriately) but I just added the Pro 3 and am confused. Specifically -  

The sampler responds to all 16 MIDI channels, and the Pro 3 to only one. How do I filter the Pro 3's channel from the data sent to the sampler? It appears that only one data map is active at a time, for all outputs, yes?

Second - what on earth are the Port Map Objects, and how are they used? I cannot find anything about them in the documentation.  

Finally - what are the MIDI-Ox Event Ports? I understand that sysex dumps originate there, but what else are they used for, and how do they participate in the mapping process?
IP Logged
Breath
Administrator

Re: Data Mapping, Port Routing, Port Objects
« Reply #1 on: Dec 1st, 2023, 8:35pm »

Hi
Quote: